Selfie checks to keep your account secure

Our priority is your safety and security, and that includes the security of your rider account and access to the rider app. So it's really important that we protect your account from anyone trying to access it without permission. 

In order to help keep your account secure and make sure no one else is trying to access it, we'll soon start asking you to take a quick selfie, once every 14 days. The aim is to verify your identity and right to work as the account holder.

You can complete the check at any time by tapping the identity check in the Profile screen. You'll also see a prompt appear on the home screen shortly before it's due. Simply tap either of these to start the check. It only takes a few seconds to complete and is carried out by our trusted identity partner, Onfido.

If for any reason your selfie can't be recognised, or someone else is using your account as a substitute when we ask for a selfie, you can complete the check later. And if you still have any difficulty having your selfie recognised, you can request a manual review where one of our team will review your selfie to confirm if it's you. 

If you let someone else use your account to complete orders on your behalf (a substitute) you'll still need to complete an identity check yourself as the Deliveroo account holder, to prove you still have control of the account. 

If after 14 days your identity has not been successfully verified, you'll be unable to go online until you complete the check.

Your selfie will be compared to the selfie or photo ID you submitted during your onboarding.

The aim of these new identity and right to work checks is to help keep your account secure, and ensure you can continue to enjoy the flexible work that we know you value.